top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureScruffy Chinwags

What To Do With My Self-Iso

Updated: Apr 15, 2020

First concieved: 25/03/20, 2226




And here we are. In my first official (or perhaps the first in history?) somewhat enforced lock down by the NZ government due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Eeeeerrybody be talkin bout it, and it’s hard not to jump on that train to be fair. People will go crazy, yes. I probably will too, but at the moment the idea of a month in solitude sounds rather appealing. I can get shit done and structure my days how I please! I guess that means I should start with the Devil inside of me for this DAWK council session…

 

The Devil began, “Thank you very much; I will take the light here. Well. Aren’t we in a peculiar situation? The world is remodelling its existence mechanism, as they tell us not to interact with the peasants in this realm. No harm there! Let them have it their way; we don’t want that filth in our lungs anyhow. We have everything we need here don’t we? Not to mention the ability to structure an optimal reality and reach an all-time high in our productivity! This is something made in your dreams, something you have longed for. Do you remember those brief moments in isolation you have experienced over the years? Reminisce boy! That is when you truly felt at ease, was it not? The control, the pure control! No obstacles to slow you down, just you and us. The other three here are...ok, at best. However, this situation calls for extreme control, a realm in which I thrive; you know that. I am the master in ticking off tasks; no matter what it takes. You already know the most effective way to organise your time. That’s right, have a set schedule, down to the minute. Let us bath in pure order! It disappoints me to say we are not where we should be in life. You know this to be true, so don’t fuck this opportunity boy! This is it, the time to catch up on it that ever-growing task list. No time for the self-care that the Angel is going to prescribe, no time to indulge in intoxication substances, as the Witch will tempt you with and no time for compromise. This is all about YOU, let everyone else handle themselves. If everyone stays out of your way, you can come out of this situation on top of the world! Hear me boy, DO NOT MISUSE THIS TIME.”

 

“NOOO!” The Witch shoved the Devil aside in a fit. “Fuck off you old red man! He is such a bore, fuck me! I don’t know why we keep him around. Where was I? Oh right. NO! We are NOT about to go into tyrannical production mode. I hate that shit, and when has it ever worked? Let’s test the boundaries on this thing, straight of the bat. Screw what the Government says, let’s go out! Let’s interact, let’s party, let’s rebel! It’s all a hoax, I beat… Oh. You’re not buying that one huh? Not going to challenge the system? All right, fine. Pussy. Well how about that fridge full of beer? And the liquor closet. That would be fun, right? We got this house to ourselves, and the house is a goddamn paradise. We can do what we want, sure, but let’s just do it while we are drunk, because that is always waaaay funner. Imagine, sitting down, popping a few beers and doing what we fuckin well please! Go on! I can feel it; you want to.. When I think about it, we haven’t even tried doing the whole solo drunk thing before. Ohh shit, it actually sounds kinda tight! Music, chilling, eating, drinking, sleeping, watching AAALLLLLLL of the Netflix. God damn it, let’s conquer that shit! Fuck, need to get some weed though, that is key. Suuurely there is some around. Go for a walk about and ask some probable stoners, they are everywhere. Or hit up some local gurus; you’ll find some if you try hard enough, everybody loves that green. Shit, I just got an idea! First frost is here soon. I mean.. Shrooms? Surely you could find some to pick! Man, this is sounding better by the second. This is a fucked up time, no doubt, so let’s match it! Enjoy shit while you can, everything could be gone tomorrow and everything you plan will be shitless anyway. Ha, shitless. Whatever that means it fuckin works! Anyway, let me guide you through this, we will have a good time.”

 

The Witch's time was up as The Angel’s lumination took over the court. “That is enough from you thanks. Well my boy, the times ahead are going to be troubling. We must show consideration and compassion to others, for we are not the only beings going through this pandemic. Be kind to those you interact with, the known and unknown. A warm and friendly greeting does no harm. Stay in contact with those who are dear to us. This is a time to empower community, regardless of physical interaction being impossible. Use the joys of the internet and check in with one another. Remember, we are social critters, do not deny our nature. Be careful however, for the screens in your home will be calling your name. You must not yield to their call, but rather use them as a tool on your terms. Set yourself barriers, to avoid being pulled into the black hole of technology and becoming a slave to the blue light. I would recommend one day, just one, where you avoid the temptation of the technology all together. No social media, no television, no laptop, no phone, no headphones. Take this time to indulge in the beauty of the mind, the sobering fresh air and the joy of exercise. Every day you should be indulging in such, it is about finding the moderation against your electronic time. Let that be my warning child: if you do not get outside at least once a day, there will be a price to pay. It is an essential part of your health. Sunshine and fresh air keep your mind stable and clear; you already know this however don’t you dear. You should also be careful with what nutrients you are fuelling your body with. This is not the time for a low cost efficient diet, even though your rationale will tell you otherwise. You have time on your hands. Make some nutritious meals and sit down to enjoy them. Get creative in the kitchen; in fact, this is the time to let your creativity run wild across all domains my child. There is nothing to hold your mind back, so let it explore all the energies residing within, and see what comes from it. I look forward to seeing what you create, and watching you ride this wave of chaos. Remember to give yourself time to relax, take the weekends off perhaps, as that is what you are accustomed to already. Be careful child, do not push yourself too hard in these troubling times and rest easy.”

 

The Angel left with all her grace to make space for the Wise King to stamp his mark on the dilemma. “My boy! Some very respectable words have been spoken today, but I would like to add mine into the pot. I must say, my orderly counter half has uttered some truth in his analysis. However, he does have a tendency to lean towards a tyrannical tone. I believe the routine is the correct method in navigating these times, as it is in most battles. It allows one to go about their day with purpose and ultimately results in production. Therefore, the development of a schedule is the path forward. Nevertheless, this schedule should be achievable, realistic and fair. Given the current climate, you do not want to put too much additional stress on yourself; we do not know what is lurking in the dark and we need to be ready for whatever is thrown at us. My suggestion is to have a solid morning and night practice to execute daily. 2-3 hours of consistent order to open and close your day? You have managed more strenuous demands in the past, so I think you can handle it. As always, the schedule is malleable, and it should be ready to evolve as your needs change. During the day, things may be, well, more on the chaotic side. Each day brings new information, and new demands. Take this time as it arises and plan accordingly to cater to each day. Setting a list of potential activities to fulfil your empty time is my recommendation; this will serve as a point of reference in your down time. We still have many tasks to complete, so do not neglect this opportunistic time my boy. Ah, in that sense, a task list will be of use too. Set them in order of priority to guide your daily decisions and see what needs completion against what you want to do. I agree with the Angel, in that taking the weekends aside from the schedule is a grand idea, not to say that you should deem this time unusable, rather use it in new ways. May I conclude with what may seem like an impossible challenge for your young soul? To offer the counter perspective to the Witch, I pose we use this time to practice sobriety. This is not a time to party or numb yourself. It will not help you navigate this chaos, and the expedient path of intoxication does exactly that; something you and I both know ends in despair. Heed my warning! Keep a noble level of order to guide your life, be a valiant figure in this time of crisis for all those you care for and stave off the horrors of chaos my boy! Strength and Courage.”

 

Judge's Response: 27/03/20, 2242


“Well, I appreciate the different perspective you have provided me! Everyone has something that is worthy of incorporation. I feel like The Devil and The Witch have set up the extremes to each side of the argument, while The King and The Angel have moderated their counterpart. I approve of these moderations. A schedule is going to be of service, no doubt, and I like to have my time somewhat structured. However, due to the nature of some of the tasks on my list, it is going to take more time and energy than it is worth to schedule every hour, so I will adopt the morning and night routine approach, leaving my days open. It’s a good point you bring up Angel in remembering to keep in touch with those I care for. This is a great time to check in on everyone and how they are handling their situation, rather than being self-absorbed. At the end of last year, I did say I wanted to try for a 3 month sober period this year, and this seems like it is going to be the best time to execute that, so why the hell not! I will still get my chill time in (got a movie list I’ve been meaning to get through which will be of great use on the weekends.) A Saturday technological sabbatical sounds like a jam actually! I’ve been meaning to try that for ages, but never felt like I could risk being uncontactable for 24 hrs. Which is stupid, but you can just get stuck in that mode of thinking all too easy. Thanks for the help DAWK, it’s always a pleasure!”

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page